Senate, Southern Arizona Congressional Races | Arizona Public Safety Coalition

Senate, Southern Arizona Congressional Races

by AZPSC News Feed

Southern Arizona will help decide three congressional seats and contribute to the statewide election of the first woman representing this state in the U.S. Senate.

U.S. Senate

Candidate % Votes
McSally, Martha REP 0% 0
Sinema, KyrstenSinema, Kyrsten DEM 0% 0

The outcome of Arizona’s Senate race will guarantee the state will be represented in the Senate by a woman for the first time. Republican Martha McSally represents Arizona’s 2nd Congressional district. She was sworn into office in 2015. In the district, she positioned herself as a moderate, but since announcing her bid for Senate she has become an ardant supporter of President Donald Trump. McSally is a retired Colonel in the U.S. Air Force where she flew A-10 attack planes.

Democrat Kyrsten Sinema represents Arizona’s 9th Congressional District, and was sworn in to that seat in 2013. Before that, she was a member of the Arizona Legislature representing the metro Phoenix area. In the legislature, she was regarded as a liberal, but since serving in Congress has positioned herself as more moderate politically.

U.S. Rep. in Congress – District No. 1

Candidate % Votes
O'Halleran, TomO’Halleran, Tom DEM 0% 0
Rogers, WendyRogers, Wendy REP 0% 0

The race in Arizona’s 1st Congressional District is the first incumbency test for Democratic Rep. Tom O’Halleran. He has positioned himself as moderate Democrat, pointing to his meeting with Trump at Luke Air Force Base in Phoenix during the campaign.

Republican Wendy Rogers is the challenger in this race. The former Air Force officer has run for political office before. She is a strong supporter of the President.

The district spans from Oro Valley in Southern Arizona, to the Utah border, and from the Grand Canyon to New Mexico. It is one of the largest in the country by land mass.

U.S. Rep. in Congress – District No. 2

Candidate % Votes
Anne KirkpatrickKirkpatrick, Ann DEM 0% 0
Marquez Peterson, LeaMarquez Peterson, Lea REP 0% 0

Two familiar names are running in Arizona’s 2nd Congressional District, which includes eastern Tucson and all of Cochise County. Republican Lea Marquez Peterson is making her first bid for office but has been the president of the Tucson Hispanic Chamber since 2009.

Democratic candidate Ann Kirkpatrick represented Arizona’s 1st Congressional District from 2009-2011 and again from 2013-2017. In the 2016 campaign, she ran against U.S. Sen. John McCain.

U.S. Rep. in Congress – District No. 3

Candidate % Votes
Grijalva, RaulGrijalva, Raul DEM 0% 0
Pierson, NicolasPierson, Nicolas REP 0% 0

Democratic Congressman Raul Grijalva has represented Arizona’s 3rd Congressional District for 15 years. He is known as a liberal representative and is co-chair of the Progressive Caucus in the U.S. House.

Republican Nick Pierson is new to politics. He was born in Nogales, Arizona.

The vast district includes western Tucson and stretches to the California state line. It also includes the southwestern corner of the Metro Phoenix area.

Your Vote 2018
Read more coverage of national, Arizona, and local elections at our 2018 elections portal, Your Vote 2018.

Source link

Help Support The AZPSC by Contributing Today!

Personal Info

Donation Total: $1

We can only provide advocacy for Arizona’s law enforcement officers with your support. Keep our unique voice alive.



Share this article

Leave a comment